Letter From the President


CPCC President Dr. Tony Zeiss

CPCC President Dr. Tony Zeiss

Central Piedmont Community College (CPCC) has worked for more than 50 years to execute its vision of becoming the national leader in workforce development. One segment of the workforce that is valued, but often
unappreciated includes those who work in
the arts. A celebration of the arts is one of the key principles that CPCC shares with the League for Innovation! This is why CPCC is proud to be the host college for the 30th League for Innovation Student Art Competition.

This edition of the student art booklet displays images of various two-dimensional and three-dimensional art created by community college students. Congratulations to those students who are featured in this edition. Their work is a direct reflection of the courage, creativity, and diversity of the community college student population.

Thank you to the student participants for submitting your work for consideration and thank you to the League for Innovation for continuing this tradition of recognizing student artists.
I hope that you will enjoy this year’s collection.


Dr. Tony Zeiss
Central Piedmont Community College


The Student Art Competition, now in its 30th year, enables community college students to compete with their peers across North America.  Notably, the competition provides a means to showcase a selection of the best work being created by today’s community college students.

Monty Montague, CPCC League for Innovation Award Winner, 2014



Central Piedmont Community College in Charlotte, North Carolina is pleased to host the 2015-2016 League for Innovation Art Competition.  

This year’s coordinator is senior studio faculty member Carolyn Jacobs.  If you have questions or need assistance, please contact Carolyn at 704.330.6668 or Carolyn.Jacobs@cpcc.edu.


Check with your local coordinator to learn the date of each school competition.  Important dates for the national competition are as follows:

January 5, 2016: Open for submissions on CaFE.org

April 15, 2016: Entry Deadline

May 20, 2016: National Winners Announced